Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day: Founded in 1908 and officially made a holiday in 1914 according to History.com.

Typically a day filled with chocolates, flowers, and “I.O.U. a hug or a clean kitchen whenever you want” type of cards where Hallmark is the only real winner of the day….Often a somewhat pitiful attempt to make up for a year of poor behavior as if that’s enough to say thank you to the woman who gave you life. No.

So let me tell you about my mother.

My mother was the reliable mother. She took me to every practice, every audition, every competition from here to the Rocky Mountains of Colorado… and everyone else’s kids too.

She taught my sister and me how to cook at a very young age. She made us responsible adults claiming  that if we could press a button on a microwave, we could press a button on a washing machine and do our own laundry.  She often taught the other kids in the neighborhood how to cook too.

She taught us to never pay full price for anything, that kind words are worth more than any amount of wealth, and she also introduced us to the wonderful world of Jane Austen.

We’ve mingled in Manchester, gallivanted through Germany, and ran through Reykjavik. (Well mostly we walked through Reykjavik, but I needed something to fill my love for alliteration.)

As I get older and as I read more about the true sacrifice required to be a mother, to raise a human being for the kingdom of God, I only catch a glimpse of all you sacrificed to make me who I am today.

I hope my life is one that make you proud to be my mom!

11822572_10153492947385135_5326578758675194050_n

I imagine right about now, there is a flood of tears forming that might rival the great flood of Noah’s time. And as one final important life lesson that she taught, always have a  pack of tissues with you. So here’s to you mom. I hope that you’ve followed your own advice and that tissues are in hand.

I love you very much and I can’t wait to see you in a few weeks.

Many blessings to all the Moms out there!

Have a wonderful day!

~Kens

 

Leave a Reply

