A.A. Milne Keeps On Giving

You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.~A.A. Milne

The last 10 days have been at best character developing. Prior to moving to Atlanta, I had several interviews with my now former employer. Clear beyond measure that I would not work on the Sabbath, I was assured without hesitation that it wouldn’t be a problem and that my religious beliefs would be respected. With that  full assurance, I moved to a new city to start a new life, but as I’ve learned, nothing in this life is sure.

Ten days ago, I was relieved of my position because I worship on the Sabbath. With a loss of income also came an immediate loss of housing as I was forced to leave my home within 24 hours. I have been humbled as family and friends have taken me in as I searched for a new job and for new housing. I have been showered abundantly in love and learned to live so simply in a way that I didn’t even know possible.

The importance of family, blood and otherwise, has never been so apparent as it is now. With God’s blessings and his everlasting promises, he has blessed me with a wonderful new job where my co-workers have all offered to host me until housing could be provided. They have given me the whole of the tips from that day of work, they have given me food, and shown me the kindness of the Savior. My church family has showered me with prayer, job offers, and food, and my family even more so.

Today, the final piece of the puzzle came in to place. I found an apartment in the quaint village of Smyrna. With an adorable downtown and a library within walking distance, I’m excited to call this new apartment home. For the many prayers, Thank you.

Jesus said that anyone who loves him will keep his commandments and that’s exactly what I’m trying to do. He also promised that we would have trials and that we would be persecuted in his name because no servant is greater than his master, but to take heart, because he has overcome the world.

These past few weeks have been hard. Living without a home is hard. Being let go from a job because of your beliefs is hard. Thankfully, this world is not my home and I’m just a passin’ through.

Many blessings to each of you today and always! Happy Sunday!

~Kens

Leave a Reply

