Happy Thanksgiving 

Happy Thanksgiving friends and family! Today marks the last in Thankful Thursday posts!

I’m thankful for the ability to travel! To see 14 countries in a year is a blessing beyond what I could have dreamed. Today, especially, I count my blessings

I’m thankful for Christmas Markets that add a bounce in my step! Filled with kakao, reibekuchen, and holiday cheer, the markets are a highlight to the year.

I’m thankful for my sweet family who supports me and my dreams. I’m thankful for their daily installments of wisdom and their knowledge. The gift of giving is the best gift they could ever have given me! I’ll see y’all soon! Thanks for skyping me in today!

I’m thankful for Dina and Bogdan and their example. Whenever I stay with them, we are always constantly in the Word digging deeper trying to decipher what the Lord is trying to tell us. I’m especially thankful for Dina and her wisdom. Our bible studies together are one of my favorite parts of the week.

Today, they put together a beautiful Thanksgiving dinner that helped me feel as close to family as I possibly could without being in Alabama.

I’m thankful for forgiveness. True forgiveness. It’s been a tough year when it comes to the subject of forgiveness. Tough because I’ve needed forgiveness, I’ve had to give it when I didn’t feel like it, and also tough as I tried to understand what the message was. Jesus says to forgive 70 x 7, but what  exactly does that look like? (Matt 18:22.) God’s love is overwhelming. He will make us white as snow (Isaiah 1:18),he will wipe away our transgressions from the east to the west (Psalm 103:12), we are simply made new (2 Cor 5:17.)

How encouraging is that? To fully embrace in this overwhelming love, to fully be in communion with God, however, I’ve learned that we must fully be repentant in our ways. It’s not enough just to ask for forgiveness. I’m learning and experiencing that just because God’s forgiveness is unlimited and just because we are instructed to be limitless with our forgiveness, doesn’t give us, or others, license to abuse that. A Christian blogger that I follow wrote something along these lines, “Knowing the verses without the application is a lot like fire insurance and a lot less like transformation.” A cleansed heart, a truly repentant heart that forsakes sin first, is needed before reconciliation can take place. And that’s the goal – to be reconciled with God, to be in communion with him, and with those we have hurt and those who have hurt us. So let us all together embrace the gift that has been given to us in Christ Jesus and shed our former lifestyles and follow him.

Today we celebrate our with friends and family across the globe. Remember not to stuff yourselves with stuffing, but to give and be thankful for what’s been given!

Much love, many blessings, and a Happy Thanksgiving!

~Kens

Leave a Reply

