5 Lessons From Dr. Seuss

Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”

I won’t stop smiling. I won’t stop laughing. I won’t stop trying to encourage. I won’t stop trying to love people the best way I know how.

One of the girls  I care for hates it when I laugh. She would yell and scream irrationally if I did. I never understood it. For the longest time, I thought it was about me. That she hated me.  One day, instead of a rage of anger, I was able to talk to her and explain that I wasn’t laughing AT her, but instead at the memories that came flooding back from my childhood. Memories like this one.

imageedit_2_3457608424

I’ve learned that if who you are and how you live your life line up with how Jesus lived and the instructions received from the Holy Word, then the “Youer than You,” is an exceptional being. I’ve learned nothing is accomplished through anger, but also to not underestimate the anger. For often the anger isn’t about you, but rather something churning from deep within.

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn the more places you’ll go.”

IMG_9385

The more I read German, the better I become, and therefore the more I can connect with the girls and the families that I care for.

The more I read travel guides, the more I want to go and to actually experience the words that I have read on a page.

The more I read the bible, the more I understand God’s standard of love, his standard of character, and how much the bible is not about rules but about being holy as God is holy.

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

IMG_8284

As I reflect on my time here, I realize that my time is Germany is almost at a close. The tears want to come because of the unknown, but the truth is I’m still living this life. This next week alone, I will add two new countries to my passport and I will reunite with my parents for the first time in 10 months! Iceland should be beautiful this time of year!

I wrote earlier this year on how it had been the Best and Most Challenging Year of My Life. It still stands true, and more especially this past week. Though my Herbstferien will be a breath of fresh air, it will be nothing compared to the peace that passes all understanding.

I’m living and breathing these words that Paul wrote to the people in Philippi.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

-Philippians 4:6-8.

As my parents and I journey to Iceland, please keep us all in your prayers for safety!

I’m praising God for my time here, for the people that I’ve met, and the lessons learned!

Together may we be encouraged and think of what is pure, lovely, commendable, and worthy of praise. May God’s name always be honored through our words and our actions.

img_6072

With much love and many blessings…Always,

Kensley

Leave a Reply

