Sometimes I Forget

Sometimes I forget that I live in Germany. My life is normal. I take street cars every day. I walk by the Rhein. I eat gelato from Italy, and Crepes from France, and all the while I still manage to forget that I call this beautiful country home.

…That is until I step foot in a very high tower with a breathtaking view of the seven hills lining the Rhein. How will I ever leave?

screenshot_2016-09-25-19-57-31

It’s like that too with God sometimes. We forget he created this world.We take for granted his masterpieces. And then something so breathtaking happens that forgetting is no longer an option. I feel fortunate to not have had that forgetfulness with God as of late. For his wake-up calls are not always the most enjoyable, but these last four months have been filled with more growth than I could have ever imagined.

Over the weekend, the family and I went on a small hike to a wild animal farm. I got to pet a goat, and a donkey, and saw the fluffiest white bunny I’ve ever seen in my whole life. This coming weekend, I’m going to climb the Alps of Switzerland and fill my stomach with Switzerland’s finest chocolate.

May I never take this life or time here for granted. The funny thing is, there was a church medical missions conference in South Germany that I really, really, really wanted to go to this weekend. And no matter how hard I tried to make it work, nothing would line up. However, this trip to Switzerland basically flopped in my lap unexpectedly, so I’m eager to see the opportunities that God will place there.

Many blessings to you all on this Terrific Thursday.

~Kens

Leave a Reply

