Kastanien

It’s Kastanien season here in Germany which means the sun is shining, the weather is cooling, and little children run all around with their head buried in the ground looking for Kastanien.

img_0007

We might sing about Kastanien closer to Christmas. Chestnuts  roasting on the open fire, jack frost nipping at your nose…

The littlest one I care for gave me my very first chestnut this week – it was the first gift she had ever given me and I was so happy. Not to be outdone, the older one also found a chestnut to give me, and before I knew it, I had my floor length skirt pulled up to my chest in a makeshift purse with all the chestnuts I had been given. I’m sure I was a sight to behold.

I’ve never lived in a place that had chestnuts before, at least not in the number they are here. It’s thrilling to find them! I feel like a child again getting to run through the park filling my bag with chestnuts!

Here in Bonn, the home of Haribo, you can exchange 10 kg of Kastanien for 1 kg of Gummy Bears. And so, we’ve attempted our pile to be sure.

Alice and I finished the night attempting to put together our trip to Switzerland.

img_0015

We are hoping for gorgeous weather and a hike to fill every picture we have dreamed up of Switzerland!

Happy Sunday Peeps! May God bless you as always!

~Kens

Leave a Reply

