Forgiveness

My Vacation time has arrived. Finally! It’s a relief to have responsibilities lifted off of you – though, I’ve found myself even more preoccupied than ever with all my “free time.” Studying, cooking, ironing, folding, working out, studying, packing, etc. It’s as if my work load quadrupled though the number of people in the house lessened.

I’ve finally been able to finish a book I’ve been plodding through. I’ve been a book worm my whole life and ditto that to my sister. In fact, I very vividly recall times when books were taken AWAY from us as children when we had invariably misbehaved. At this moment, I have 5 books I’m reading through, perhaps not the most effective method, but definitely the one that appeases my craving to always learn more.

With this ample amount of free time, I sat down to dig in to and read the last four chapters that have been evading me over these last few busy weeks. And the timing and openness of heart to receive this particular message was probably more prudent today in the stillness than had I opened the pages amongst such a hectic season of life.

Staring back at me read these profound words:

“Christ came not to be ministered unto but to minister; and when His love reigns in the heart, we shall follow His example.

If we keep uppermost in our minds the unkind and unjust acts of others we shall find it impossible to love them as Christ has loved us; but if our thoughts dwell upon the wondrous love and pity of Christ for us, the same spirit will flow out to others. We should love and respect one another, notwithstanding the faults and imperfections that we cannot help seeing. Humility and self-distrust should be cultivated, and a patient tenderness with the faults of others. This will kill out all narrowing selfishness and make us large-hearted and generous.”

                                                                    ~Steps to Christ. E.G. White page 121

The glass shattered and the walls fell and suddenly everything I thought I had led go of, truly and faithfully thought I had let go of, fell away bringing a peace I never knew before. Large-hearted and generous. That’s what I want to be. Years of painful recollections from long ago to the most recent past now gone.

The timing is rather providential. You see I head to London on Wednesday. More than 10 years ago, I sat in Mr. Layton’s junior high band room.  My future band director, Mr. Creswell, came in pitching the band trip for the next year to London. I was slightly devastated when the news hit me that I wouldn’t be allowed to go. It was a pricey trip to be sure, but I was convinced in my own mind that it would be the only time I would have that opportunity. I let go of that a long time ago – but I didn’t trust that the same experience would present itself again in an even better manner. 

And now, I’m blown away at the life that I’m living – a life better than anything I could have imagined. Instead of the 2,000 dollar plus trip to be heavily guarded by our loving band moms and scheduled out the wazoo, I now will pay only 35 dollars in flights with free housing and be shown around by the greatest local London has ever seen.

IMG_7961

I have to remember that forgiveness, true forgiveness paves the way for beautiful moments in life. You see, God has this incredible way of working things for his glory in a way that also benefits you and so sometimes you can’t see what’s coming because it’s better than anything you could ever dreamed yourself. But to do so means to let go of the disappointing moments and live life for his glory in the way that he has demanded meaning giving forgiveness in the way that we want to be forgiven.

If you want to read the book. Here is the link. It’s online for free! I highly recommend it!

http://www.seventh-day.org/steps-index.htm

In Other Fascinating News! 

My cousin is coming to Europe in two days…Who knew? Apparently he texted my American number which is not currently in service – which he will quickly find out upon his arrival unless he plans to run up his data plan. SO, I just found out today that I may have the opportunity to see him which would be a great joy because family is a blessing!

He will be in France for the majority of the trip so I’m hoping I can meet him there because 1. I love France, and 2. I have vacation days that line up with his, and 3. Using those vacation days in France sounds slightly more exciting than nerding out over the Olympics as I had planned. (Though my fellow gymternerds may disagree with me slightly!)

Let’s enjoy today – a new day full of love, forgiveness, and God’s blessings!

Wishing all y’all a beautiful and blessed day to all my family!

~Kens

Leave a Reply

