Life Is a-MAZE-ing

Though days have become more routine, I shouldn’t become routine. Though things change, God is constant. I can learn from all things.

My day began as normal.

6:30 am. Wake-up and make breakfast for the family.

7:am.-7:30 am. Help get the girls ready and take them to school.

8:00 am. – 8:30 am. Bible study in the park.

9:00 am – 11:30 am. German lessons.

12:00 pm. – 2:30 pm. Time for myself to practice/workout/read/study/etc.

3:00 pm – 7:00 pm. Play with the girls, Cook dinner, Fold laundry, Clean after dinner.

At breakfast, I was given special money to treat the girls to ice-cream after school. It was a hot day. Scorching (I can’t believe I’m saying this after all the years in Florida,) but scorching at 80 degrees.

But after a long walk in the hot sun, the lemon and strawberry sorbet was just was I needed and even more special for two tired little humans.

Afterwards, we headed to the maze, and I believe I have never seen those two so happy. I’ll be honest. I’m not a huge fan of Mazes. I go once a year in the Fall for friendship and hot donuts but that’s the extent of my enjoyment. But to see their joy, to really experience their happiness with them – It made all the difference.

As with all Mazes, there are dead-ends, wrong turns, do-overs, moments of glee, followed by many of frustration, and yet you keep chugging to the final prize. How similar that mimics life. Though we may not see where each turn leads us, our Father has better than a bird’s eye view. And through our choices, if we stay persistent, following the guidelines he has laid out for us (Loving him and loving others as we love ourselves,) we will also reach our reward and that’s an amazing thought.

I am daily awestruck by the beauty around me in Bonn. I love going to the park near our house and reading or walking along the Rhein. I try every day to be appreciative for something around me. Today was specifically the roses in the park.

I other news…

German classes are tough, but I’m enjoying learning a new language!

It’s Gymnastics Season so I’m happy as a clam. My friend, Sam, just won his 4th consecutive national title and is well on his way to making his second Olympic team.

Watch his vault here! 🙂 Sam’s 2016 Championship Vault

A new batch of mail was sent out last week so check your mailboxes! If you want a post card or letter, send me your address! It will make me happy! 🙂

Sunday is the European Soccer Championships! Los geht’s Deutschland!

My flight to London is officially booked for August!

 

Happy Tuesday to All! Many blessings as always!

~Kens

Leave a Reply

