Kens Learns About German

Different languages measure your competency through a scale measuring from A1 – C2 (There are 2 levels per alphabet letter.) A1 is the most basic with C2 coming in as ‘complete’ fluency. B2 is considered the level needed to work/live in Germany successfully. After three short months, I was assessed to be at A2+. I have since decided to increase my hours from 4 per week to 9. While my reading comprehension has improved tremendously, my speech needs quite a bit of work. I don’t often have the opportunity to speak German as I speak only English in the home with my host family so that the children may learn English.

Through the suggestion of a friend, I’ve begun watching movies in German with German subtitles so that I may better understand how words sounds while simultaneously being able to watch the words scroll across the screen. While momentarily frustrating, the payoff will be great and I look forward to the day where I can speak more effectively to the natives of the country that holds a special place in my heart.

A few other tools I’m incorporating deal with biblical texts. I borrowed a German Hymnal from a local church and that has brought me great joy. My most recent endeavor though, has come in the form of memorizing familiar scripture in German. Here is the Lord’s Prayer that I am currently working on! 🙂

Vater unser im Himmel,
geheiligt werde dein Name;
dein Reich komme;
dein Wille geschehe,
wie im Himmel so auf Erden.
Unser tägliches Brot gib uns heute.
Und vergib uns unsere Schuld,
wie auch wir vergeben unsern Schuldigern;
und führe uns nicht in Versuchung,
sondern erlöse uns von dem Bösen.

Denn dein ist das Reich und die Kraft
und die Herrlichkeit in Ewigkeit.

Amen.

I miss you all very much! Many Blessings to you as always!

~Kens

 

Leave a Reply

