The Sudden Change

The sun shined bright along the narrow German street as I walked briskly to the train station, thankful that I had thought to put on an extra sweater for layered warmth. The wind added a bitter and deceptive cold to the air that one might have perceived as a gentle and pleasant day from the inside looking out. But life often presents in that manner. Beautiful perfection from one view and the stark inverse from another.

Moments after returning from my winded (pun intended,) trip to finalize my German bank account, all hail broke loose (pun also intended.) The metamorphosis from seeming perfection to a hail storm appeared instantaneously and without warning. I watched from a large window, thankful that I had narrowly escape a very unpleasant situation and also in awe of the parallels that it represented in my life recently.

There are days when you wake-up blissfully unaware of the storm barreling at you and your inability to shift its course. Yet, the sun comes up another day, full of promise with the birds singing a song of redemption and joy.

In an unanticipated series of events, I was watching House while folding laundry today. Hugh Laurie was rambling on in his quick-witted and often haughty manner and so my thoughts wondered until and unlikely character began to quote scripture.

I’ll leave you today with this.

1 Peter 1: 6 -7

So be truly glad.[a] There is wonderful joy ahead, even though you must endure many trials for a little while. These trials will show that your faith is genuine. It is being tested as fire tests and purifies gold—though your faith is far more precious than mere gold. So when your faith remains strong through many trials, it will bring you much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ is revealed to the whole world.

There are no tales today of me climbing mountains, playing with children, or flying to far-away lands, but I hope today that this gave you hope as it did me.

Not to fret, with Easter break, my unequaled ability to land (or create) and interesting story, and the big 2-5 just weeks away, I’ll be back with tales of the extraordinary Deutschland.

Peace and Blessings as Always!

~Kens

Leave a Reply

