Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Germany is experiencing a bitter cold that would normally have me begging to stay inside all day sipping hot cocoa and watching a classic black and white movie by the fireplace. But now, I get to take care of two precious little girls who fill the day with hugs, hand-holding and laughter that would melt even the most wicked of snowmen. I have been transitioning more and more into the role of care-taker and friend. I pick the girls up from their schools and am greeted with the biggest of hugs. We play games where I pretend I don’t know the way home and they have to show me, or E gives me her scooter and I call it my tasche (pocket or purse,) and they burst into giggles.

The girls enjoy drawing, but even more so, they get incredible joy out of Christmas songs. They are well on their way to making their singing debut for Christmas in July. I sit here writing this while slightly evading my German homework, (only slightly I swear!) This week will be difficult because I’ve been assigned the task to learn all the A1 (beginner,) terms and their respective articles. Unlike English, each noun in German is descried as feminine, masculine, or neutral and you have no choice but to strictly memorize them. That’s where I am now. I have 3 piles: 1 for where I know the definition of the words and the correct article, 1 where I know the definition and not the article, and 1 where I know neither. It’s a process, but I know it will be worth it in the end!

T & D have bought piano books for me to teach the girls and I am very excited about that! I’m starting my own little studio here in Germany and have two other students beginning next week or the week after. It will be interesting to be sure because the books are in German and the German system is a bit different than the one I grew up with. But the them for this year is to never stop learning!

Much Love and Many Blessings!

~Kens

Leave a Reply

